Festival Ironwood Grand Finale -
the 2009 Klassic Kruisers Car Show


2009 Klassic Kruisers Car Show

Ironwood - July 23, 2009

Story by Linda Gustafson, photos by Lou Bonagura


Fifty classic, custom and antique vehicles were on display on Lowell Street on Sunday, July 19, for the 21st Annual Old Depot Classic, Custom & Antique Auto Show – part of Festival Ironwood 2009.  Best in Class (1st) and Outstanding in Class (2nd) trophies were awarded in twelve different classes, along with six special trophies, with trophies sponsored by area businesses and organizations.  Show participants voted on the cars, with the results as follows (Best in Class listed first, followed by Outstanding in Class – more than two listed in a class means a tie for Outstanding):

Class A – 0-1940 – no entries

Class B – 1941-1954 – no entries.

Class C – 1955-1964 – Mimi Kuklinski, Ironwood, 1956 Ford Thunderbird; Chuck Gotta, Ironwood, 1959 Buick LeSabre.

Class D – 1965-1970 – George Slivinski, Eagle River, WI, 1965 Chevrolet El Camino; Sharon Laabs, Ironwood, 1966 Plymouth Satellite.

Class E – 1971-1980 – Chris Drake, Cazenovia, WI, 1971 Dodge Demon; Jeff & Charlotte Behrendt, Ironwood, 1978 Pontiac Trans Am; Joe Dudra, Ironwood, 1972 Chevrolet Chevelle.

Class F – Street Rods (1900-1949) – Bill Tippett, Ironwood, 1935 Ford 5-Window Coupe; Peggy & Jerry West, Eagle River, WI, 1936 Ford Sedan.Class

Class G – Street Machines (1950 & over) – Tom Laabs, Ironwood, 1974 Plymouth Barracuda.Class

Class H – Factory Muscle Cars – Don Kuechler, Woodruff, WI, 2010 Chevrolet Camaro. Class

Class I – Corvettes – Jeff & Char Behrendt, Ironwood, 1973 Corvette Stingray; Bob & Judy Bergquist, Ironwood, 1995 Corvette Convertible. Class

J – Convertibles – George Kuklenski, Ironwood, 1968 Pontiac LeMans.

Class K – Special Interest – Rick Tippett, Ironwood, 1938 Chevrolet Panel Truck; Savannah Larson (age 11), Ironwood, mini-roadster, mini-NASCAR, 2 roadster wagons.

Class L – Trucks – Bill and Susie Melchi, St. Germain, WI, 1948 Chevrolet Pickup; Joe Bruin, Laona, WI, 1980 Jeep Pickup J-20; Jim Collins, Ironwood, 1975 Dodge Power Wagon.

Special trophies were awarded as follows:

Longest Distance Traveled
– Chris Drake, Cazenovia, WI

Joe Zarimba Memorial Trophy (oldest vehicle in the show)
– Bill Tippett, Ironwood, 1935 Ford 5-windowCoupe

Kruisers’ Choice Trophy
(Kruiser members vote on their favorite show car) – Mimi Kuklenski, Ironwood, 1956 Ford T-Bird

President’s Choice Trophy (Kruiser president’s choice) – Dennis & Diane Nielsen, Sayner, WI, 1952 Ford Pickup; People’s Choice – Rick Tippett, Ironwood, 1938 Chevrolet Panel Truck. 


In this show, the Klassic Kruisers Car Club members’ cars are displayed separately from the “show cars” and are not included in the People’s Choice voting.  But they are voted on by the show participants for the “Participants’ Choice Trophy.”  This year’s trophy went to Tom & Sharon Ravelli, Ironwood, for their 1931 Ford Model A.

 The Kruisers want to thank all the area businesses that once again sponsored trophies for this year's car show.


Photo Gallery

Click on photo for larger image











IronwoodInfo.com is a Michigan, Non-Profit Media Corporation

Contact IronwoodInfo.com

email: mail@ironwoodinfo.com
snail mail: P.O. Box 305 Ironwood, MI 49938