Home Page     More News    

Hockey Announces 2010-11 Award Winners

by Ian Marks, associate director of athletic communications

The hockey team announced its yearly award winners recently. Nine different players where honored.

John MacInnes Slide Rule Award (Scholastic Achievement)
This award annually goes to the player with the highest overall grade point average. The player must have been at Michigan Tech at least one full year. The award is named in honor of John MacInnes, who coached the Huskies for 26 seasons.
Winner: Corson Cramer, 3.82 GPA, mechanical engineering

Wildcat Slayer Award
Awarded to a player for their outstanding performance against rival Northern Michigan.
Winner: Deron Cousens (six assists)

Harold Meese Sportsmanship Award
This award is named after long-time dean of students and athletic supporter Harold Meese. Starting at Michigan Tech in 1950 as a professor in metallurgy, Meese became Dean of Students in 1959 and remained in that position until his retirement in 1984. During his retirement, Meese served five years (1989-94) in a volunteer capacity as the athletic department's academic advisor.
Winner: Daniel Holmberg

Rick Yeo Unsung Hero Award
This award is named after former Michigan Tech hockey player, assistant coach and athletic director Rick Yeo.
Winner: Patrick McCadden

George McCarthy Performance Award (Athletic and Academic Achievement)
Named after the late George McCarthy, a former hockey player at Michigan Tech and member of the school's Sports Hall of Fame.
Winner: Bennett Royer

Elov Seger Memorial Award (Most Improved Player)
This award is named after Elov Seger, who passed away in the mid-sixties as a result of a brain tumor. Throughout his career, he battled against great odds and was always successful.
Winner: Brad Stebner

Norbert Matovich Award (Outstanding Freshman)
Norbert Matovich was a freshman athlete from Saskatoon, Saskatchewan, who was killed in a car accident in 1966 over Christmas break.
Winner: Ryan Furne

Gitzen-Loutit Memorial Award (Outstanding Defenseman)
The award is named after two Michigan Tech students, one a hockey player, Bob Gitzen, and Richard Loutit. Both were killed on Jan. 14, 1950, in a bus accident involving the varsity hockey team.
Winner: Carl Nielsen

Gary Crosby Memorial Award (Leading Scorer)
Named after an outstanding varsity hockey player who led Michigan Tech in scoring his sophomore season. He was drafted by the Los Angeles Kings after his sophomore campaign and signed a pro contract. Unfortunately he was killed in a car accident soon after.
Winner: To be awarded at conclusion of season

Merv Young Award (Most Valuable Player)
This award is named in honor of a man who put his heart and soul into promoting hockey. The fact that hockey played such an important part in the life of the Copper Country is a tribute to his promotion. John W. Rice, publisher and editor of the Daily Mining Gazette, donated the trophy to the college and presented it to the first winner, Bob McManus, in 1955.
Winner: Milos Gordic

Polar Bear Cookbook

Thank you to everyone who submitted recipes for the Polar Bear Hockey Cookbook. The cookbooks are now available. The cost for the cookbooks are $10.00 so make sure to grab one for yourself and maybe one or two as a gift. They can be purchased at the Pat O'Donnel Civic Center concession stand or by contacting Kerry Roehm or Micki Sorensen.




301 S. Sophie St.
Bessemer, MI 49911
visit facebook page

"The Friendliest Motel In Town!"
447 W Cloverland Dr.
Ironwood, MI 49938  
906-932-1260 www.budgethostironwood.com

930 E Cloverland Dr # 104
Ironwood, MI 49938-1546
(906) 932-0880



200 E. Lead St.
Bessemer, MI 49911
(906) 663-4152


Phone : 906-884-4821
Toll free no: 1-877-346-2173