Home Page     More News    

Association of Division III Independents Names 2011 All - Independent Baseball Teams

Finlandia University’s Gerard Taylor, pictured above, named Rookie of the Year while Tyler Fredricks earns 2nd team honors

OVERLAND PARK, Kan.--- University of Dallas outfielder Brian Shelburne and Chapman University pitcher Brian Rauh earned top honors on the 2011 All-Independent Baseball teams named today by the Association of Division III Independents.

Shelburne, a junior from Portsmouth, R.I., was named the player of the year after hitting .348 with 32 runs scored and 28 stolen bases (tied for 10th in Division III). For the season he slugged .418 with an on-base percentage of .446.

Tyler Fredricks, pictured above, earns 2nd team honors
Rauh, a sophomore from Lake Forest, Cal., was named the pitcher of the year for the second year in a row. He went 10-0 as a starter and posted a 1.88 earned-run average. Rauh leads all of Division III with 124 strikeouts and has allowed opponents to hit only .186. He has four complete games and has walked only 29 batters in 100.1 innings. In two seasons at Chapman, Rauh has a won-lost record of 20-0.

Finlandia University's Gerard Taylor, a freshman second baseman from Union, S.C., was named the AD3I rookie of the year. The team's leadoff hitter in every game, Taylor led the Lions in batting average (.371), runs (20), doubles (7), runs batted in (14) slugging percentage (.472) and on-base percentage (.446). He was also 6 for 6 in stolen bases.

According to Finlandia head coach Steve Lishinski, "Gerard did an exceptional job of leading the offense".

Gerard is the first All-Independent “Rookie of the Year” in Finlandia University Baseball history.

Dallas head coach Fraser Holmes was selected as the recipient of the AD3I coach-of-the-year award for the first time. The Crusaders improved to 25-14 after a 14-25 campaign in 2010.

First Team

Pitcher – Brian Rauh, Sophomore, Chapman University (Lake Forest, CA)
Pitcher – Jordan Sigman, Senior, Chapman University (Santa Monica, CA)
Pitcher – Philip Carkhuff, Senior, University of Dallas (Marietta, GA)
Pitcher – Michael Schweiss, Junior, University of Dallas (Parker, CO)
First base – Mark Saatzer, Freshman, Chapman University (Glendale, CA)
Second base – Tyler Hadzinsky, Senior, Chapman University (San Clemente, CA)
Third base – Tyler Surnbrock, Sophomore, Chapman University (Tustin, CA)
Shortstop – Josh Ostrom, Junior, Nebraska Wesleyan University (Fremont, NE)
Catcher – Adam Kordich, Senior, Chapman University (Laguna Niguel, CA)
Designated hitter – Isaac Gross, Freshman, North Central University (Atlanta, GA)
Outfield – Brian Shelburne, Junior, University of Dallas (Portsmouth, R.I.)
Outfield – Devin Arnold, Junior, University of Dallas (McKinney, TX)
Outfield – (tie) Joseph Mendez, Freshman, St. Joseph's College (Brooklyn) (Staten Island, NY), and Adam Velez, Freshman, Chapman University (Yorba Linda, CA)
Utility – Jon Mendez, Junior, St. Joseph's College (Brooklyn) (Brooklyn, NY)

Second Team

Pitcher – Christian Maietta, Sophomore, Chapman University (Santa Anna, CA)
Pitcher – Donny Pagano, Freshman, St. Joseph's College (Brooklyn) (Staten Island, NY)
Pitcher – Mike Lovgren, Sophomore, Nebraska Wesleyan University (Omaha, NE)
First base – Michael Cundari, Freshman, St. Joseph's College (Brooklyn) (Staten Island, NY)
Second base – Gerard Taylor, Freshman, Finlandia University (Union, S.C.)
Third base – Trevor Allred, Sophomore, University of Dallas (Anchorage, A.K.)
Shortstop – Joe Robinson, Sophomore, North Central University (Gilbert, AZ)
Catcher – Tyler Fredricks, Freshman, Finlandia University (Remus, MI)
Designated hitter – Carlos Villoria, Sophomore, University of Maine-Presque Isle (Caracas, Ven.)
Outfield – Charlie Piro, Sophomore, Chapman University (San Diego, CA)
Outfield – James Parr, Sophomore, Chapman University (Irvine, CA)
Outfield – Kevin Diaz, Junior, St. Joseph's College (Brooklyn) (Staten Island, NY)
Utility – Beau Kelly, Sophomore, Nebraska Wesleyan University (Colorado Springs, CO)
Finlandia University Head Coach Steve Lishinski said, "Tyler did an exceptional job leading the defense and pitching staff throughout the season. He also greatly improved his hitting throughout the year."

The Association of Division III Independents consists of 13 Division III independent institutions that have joined together to recognize student-athletes at independent institutions, and to provide exempted postseason championship competition. The Association recognizes outstanding athletic achievements of its student-athletes on a weekly, monthly and annual basis. The Association provides statistical services for its members in seven sports. In addition, it will announce All-Independent teams at the conclusion of eight other sports this year.

More information about the Association of Division III Independents is available at http://www.d3independents.org.

Polar Bear Cookbook

Thank you to everyone who submitted recipes for the Polar Bear Hockey Cookbook. The cookbooks are now available. The cost for the cookbooks are $10.00 so make sure to grab one for yourself and maybe one or two as a gift. They can be purchased at the Pat O'Donnel Civic Center concession stand or by contacting Kerry Roehm or Micki Sorensen.




301 S. Sophie St.
Bessemer, MI 49911
visit facebook page

"The Friendliest Motel In Town!"
447 W Cloverland Dr.
Ironwood, MI 49938  
906-932-1260 www.budgethostironwood.com

930 E Cloverland Dr # 104
Ironwood, MI 49938-1546
(906) 932-0880



200 E. Lead St.
Bessemer, MI 49911
(906) 663-4152


Phone : 906-884-4821
Toll free no: 1-877-346-2173

824 E. Cloverland Dr.
Ironwood, MI 49938